Leave a comment

care and feeding of friends

img_0424.jpg

A friend Ben just moved to New York State to begin a new venture in his life already filled with adventures. He is going against the norm of going to live and work in a big city. He is following a path most of us dare not to take. Ben is going back to work with the land and to raise dairy animals the old school way, organic.

Swimming against the tide to pursue his dream is what my friend is best at. In this world where organic and small scale farms are being abandoned to make way for mc mansions or are in danger of disappearing, taken over by to mono crop or industrial farms. he made a decision to go into a career that may in the future be as important as medicine or finding a cure for HIV. In his small way, his by pursuing a mean to maintain a tie to the land and promoting a healthier way of eating and living through organic dairy will someday save the rest of the poor wretched mindless consumers of prepared products. A reversed-pioneer, instead of going West as goes the saying when this country was young to look for fortune, he went back to the East. Ben left behind fifteen years worth of friends and memories in Alaska. Now, his worse fear is not venturing into the unknown or taking risks, but being alone without friends. At least Sir Ernest Shackleton has his crew on the Endurance when he was stranded in the Antarctica.

The farming profession is a lonely, thankless, unglamorous profession. Men and women leave farms to head for the lights of the cities. Ben is now in a rural farm and deep in that loneliness. He wonders how he could ever collect new friends like those he left behind. I also left friends whom I fed and cared for over my thirteen years stay in Alaska. I went through what Ben is faced with, differences being I am in a place I chose to be, for him it is place he has to be. My new friends in Hawaii are new. My relationships with them are not quite satisfying, but I think over time I too could cultivate through “care and feeding”so that I will again have a fruitful family of friends, my tribe.

Friends are like plants, fruit or vegetables; need the essentials, like our time, nutrition and that symbiotic relationship, give and take, in order to grow. Only the human fruit needs a great deal more care. Do we find our friends or they find us? Do we grow the plants or they grow us?

As for my brave friend, I will use my mental telepathy power across 6 time zones to send some reinforcement, some friendlies his direction.

Leave a Reply

