Leave a comment

wiliwili tree survey, puu waawaa

I surveyed fifteen wiliwili trees maikai, seaward, side of Highway 190 between mile 23 and 23.5. There are more trees mauka, mountain side of Hwy 190 , but I decided to start out small. Wiliwili  trees are easy to spot even from a distance because of their distinctive orange trunk and branches. They lose their leaves in the summer to save water. Most trees I noticed have some small leaves that are yellowing, with the exception of ES-Waa-12(Erythrina Sandwicensis-Pu u Waawaa-#12, these are catalog names i made up) who seems to have the most healthy leaves. There are markers with tags on ES-waa-2 and 7, so there must be an effort by professional(s) to keep a tab on these trees.  Most trees are along these gravel roads that lead somewhere toward the ocean. I am certain that some of these trees were here before the gravel road judging by how large some of them are in this dry and rocky lava soil. Some trees seem to grow out straight out of the lava. I am not sure how they manage to survive much less grow. I did visit each tree and scanned for seeds and  sapling under its canopy. I found one seed under ES-Waa-2. The ground is so rocky and seeds that survived the parasitic wasps to fall on the ground are probably gobbled up by goats.

Being out in the hot, windy and dry semi desert and visiting these amazing trees, gave me a satisfy feeling that I am accomplishing something though it seems a little ridiculous. It made me appreciate all the scientists and conservationists that are wandering around the bush elsewhere in the world devoting their lives to save and conserve species that we will never hear of until they are threatened or extinct.

As for the Wiliwili trees, I have not a clue what is being done and who is doing anything about them. The trees i surveyed are plotted on Google Maps, location are approximate. I plan on surveying the mauka side of Hwy109 soon so if anyone is interested please let me know we can schedule it.

Leave a Reply

