Leave a comment

ditched facebook

 

I left Facebook in a hurry, slipped out and never looked back. A lone rat leaving a sinking ship. All those postings, photos and comments will still be there in case i decide to return the company assures me before I click the deactivate my account button. The allure of FB is gone and it served its purpose for me. Time to move on. Social media are for a culture that is flitting about on surfaces and never staying in one place long enough to form physical and tactile relationships with other individuals. This leaves me empty. Likes and comments became routine and often meaningless. My motivation to share and to post is truly to get validation of my existence in a community of “friends”. Really? Apparently, we existed fine prior to social media. It allows us to connect and reconnect for “free” yet we pay with our time while it mines our data and privacy.

Leave a Reply

